Gemstones rocks, and fossils found on the shores of Lake Huron
Gemstones rocks, and fossils found on the shores of Lake Huron

I had the great fortune and permission to rock hunt on a private beach of the shores of Lake Huron during a vacation of much needed ‘spiritual renewal’. For me this was an experience in treasure hunting. Imagine my delight to see quartz, moonstone (feldspar), jasper, chert, petoskey, various fossilized corals, agate, micah, muscovite, unakite, (I could go on and on) all laying about on the shores.

The first time I saw the beach it had just rained and I followed the rainbow to the lakeside, and there my pot of gold lie, an entire shoreline of perfectly polished shimmering stones. You see the wetness of the storm revealed what the stones could look like in their polished beauty. Without storm and rain, this ‘treasure’ would have been disguised. It would have appeared as washed out beach stone, to be passed by and ignored. But in radiant light, shinning through sunset and double rainbow, the perfected beauty in wetness was revealed.

I’m so glad I could take time out to gather, collect, and contemplate through this experience. The ritual of gathering helped me reflect, and meditate.  It helped me think of all the ‘ordinary’ beauty and goodness in my everyday life that I could be passing by and ignoring. In light of every color, hearing sounds of gentle waves, I physically bent over to pick up stones, while my body reached a meditative awareness, a prayer state of consciousness. Each gem discovered sparked another affirmation of goodness revealed.

Ritual is one way to transcend the regular and reach a cognizant level of appreciation and awareness. What rituals can you incorporate into your daily life to help you find the ‘treasure’ that might otherwise be overlooked? Are you too tired and stuck in the trials of storm to transition to the new awareness avaiable after life’s storms, an after which may lead to following rainbows, rest, and a new perspective?

Gemstones rocks, and fossils found on the shores of Lake Huron
Gemstones rocks, and fossils found on the shores of Lake Huron

On another level, this is my favorite way to acquire gems and supplies for my art of jewelry making. I feel that the loving meditative energy I held while collecting my materials is reflected in my art, design and work. I hope my patrons can feel that when they wear my creations.

Thanks for reading my blog. Support a vegan artist, visit my webstore for handmade gemstone jewelry: https://www.etsy.com/shop/goodnessinthecosmos

